You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL team list: Round 17 v St George Illawarra

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys Interim Head Coach Josh Hannay has moved Valentine Holmes to fullback for Sunday’s clash with the St George Illawarra Dragons at Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

Holmes returned from an ankle injury on the wing against Cronulla last weekend, but will revert to fullback with Scott Drinkwater moving to five-eighth.

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow returns from a hamstring complaint on the wing, while centre Esan Marsters has been recalled for his first game since Round 10.

Jake Clifford replaces injured skipper Michael Morgan at halfback. Morgan is expected to be sidelined for three weeks with a calf tear.

Cowboys stalwart Gavin Cooper has been named to make his first appearance in the second-row since Round 4. The 35-year-old’s previous eight appearances had come from the interchange.

Versatile back Daejarn Asi has been named on the interchange alongside forwards John Asiata, Tom Gilbert and Corey Jensen.

Sunday’s game kicks off at 6.30pm.

Cowboys team to play Dragons:

1.         Valentine Holmes

2.         Kyle Feldt

3.         Justin O’Neill

4.         Esan Marsters

5.         Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow

6.         Scott Drinkwater

7.         Jake Clifford

8.         Francis Molo

9.         Reuben Cotter

10.       Jordan McLean

11.       Gavin Cooper

12.       Mitch Dunn

13.       Josh McGuire


14.       Daejarn Asi

15.       John Asiata

16.       Tom Gilbert

17.       Corey Jensen


18.       Shane Wright

19.       Jake Granville

20.       Peter Hola

21.      Ben Hampton

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.