You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL team list: Round 1 v Broncos

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys head coach Paul Green will unleash star recruits Valentine Holmes, Esan Marsters and Reece Robson in Friday night’s season-opening XXXX Derby clash with arch-rivals Brisbane at the brand-new Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

Holmes lines up at fullback, with Marsters at centre and Robson on the interchange.

NRL Nines Player of the Tournament Scott Drinkwater has won the battle to partner skipper Michael Morgan in the halves.

Ben Hampton makes his return to Cowboys colours on the wing after his 2019 season was cut short by a bicep injury.

With Josh McGuire unavailable through suspension, John Asiata starts in the front row alongside vice-captain Jordan McLean.

On the back of an impressive pre-season, Coen Hess partners Gavin Cooper in the second row with superstar Jason Taumalolo at lock.

Robson, utility Mitch Dunn, second-rower Shane Wright and prop Francis Molo make up the interchange.

Friday night’s clash kicks off at 7.05pm.

Cowboys team to play Broncos:

1.         Valentine Holmes

2.         Kyle Feldt

3.         Justin O’Neill

4.         Esan Marsters

5.         Ben Hampton

6.         Scott Drinkwater

7.         Michael Morgan (C)

8.         John Asiata

9.         Jake Granville

10.       Jordan McLean

11.       Gavin Cooper

12.       Coen Hess

13.       Jason Taumalolo


14.       Reece Robson

15.       Mitch Dunn

16.       Shane Wright

17.       Francis Molo


18.       Corey Jensen

19.       Connelly Lemuelu

20.       Tom Opacic

21.       Jake Clifford

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.