You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL team list: Round 1 v Dragons

Jordan Kahu, Tom Opacic, Nene Macdonald and Josh McGuire will make their North Queensland Toyota Cowboys debuts in Saturday’s season-opening showdown with the St George Illawarra Dragons at 1300SMILES Stadium.

Kahu, Opacic and Macdonald are all part of an exciting new-look back five named by head coach Paul Green, while McGuire has been named on the interchange.

Javid Bowen has been rewarded for an excellent pre-season with a spot on the wing, taking the spot of Kyle Feldt who picked up a groin injury at training late last week.

Dragons name team to take on the Cowboys 

Te Maire Martin has won the battle to partner new skipper Michael Morgan in the halves, with young gun Jake Clifford named in the reserves.

Matt Scott and Jordan McLean retain the front-row spots they manned during both pre-season trials, while Jason Taumalolo moves back to his favoured No.13 jersey after starting in the second-row in the final trial against Melbourne.

Gavin Cooper returns to the starting side to partner Coen Hess in the second-row, while Jake Granville will start at hooker.

Joining McGuire on the bench are fellow middle forwards John Asiata and Francis Molo as well as utility Mitch Dunn.

Clifford and outside backs Ben Hampton, Gideon Gela-Mosby and Enari Tuala make up the reserves.

The Cowboys have dedicated their Round 1 clash to raising funds for flood victims in Townsville and north-west Queensland. Australian singer-songwriter and multi-instrumental performing artist Dami Im will headline ‘Together for North Queensland’, with the NRL also announcing they will donate $100 for every point scored across the eight Round 1 matches.

Saturday’s game kicks off at 6.35pm (AEST).

Cowboys team to play Dragons:

1.    Jordan Kahu

2.    Nene Macdonald

3.    Justin O’Neill

4.    Tom Opacic

5.    Javid Bowen

6.    Te Maire Martin

7.    Michael Morgan (C)

8.    Matt Scott

9.    Jake Granville

10.  Jordan McLean

11.  Gavin Cooper

12.  Coen Hess

13.  Jason Taumalolo


14.  John Asiata

15.  Josh McGuire

16.  Mitch Dunn

17.  Francis Molo


18.  Ben Hampton

19.  Jake Clifford

20.  Gideon Gela-Mosby

23. Enari Tuala

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.