You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Four Cowboys named as contenders for The Players' Champion award

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys quartet Jason Taumalolo, Reece Robson, Josh McGuire and Kyle Feldt have been nominated to be eligible for the year’s The Players’ Champion award.

On Wednesday the Rugby League Players Association released a list of the four players from each club that were nominated, with the winner to be announced on Grand Final day.

All contracted NRL players can vote on a 3/2/1 point system, with the five finalists to be announced on October 15.

Other awards up for grabs are the RLPA Rookie of the Year, NRLW Player of the Year, Players’ 13 Dream Team and the Dennis Tutty award.

Cowboys players have been named The Players’ Champion on six occasions since 2005, including Johnathan Thurston (2005, 2013, 2014, 2015), Matt Bowen (2007) and Jason Taumalolo (2017).  

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.