You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Four Cowboys named as contenders for The Players' Champion award

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys quartet Valentine Holmes, Reece Robson, Scott Drinkwater and Jeremiah Nanai have been named as contenders for this year's Rugby League Players' Association The Players’ Champion award.

The winners of both the NRL and NRLW The Players’ Champion award will be announced during Channel 9’s Grand Final coverage on October 2.

Cowboys players have been named The Players’ Champion on six occasions since 2005, including Johnathan Thurston (2005, 2013, 2014, 2015), Matt Bowen (2007) and Jason Taumalolo (2017).  

About The Players’ Champion voting:

  • The Contenders’ list is made up of four players from each club that are nominated to be eligible for The Players’ Champion award.
  • RLPA Delegates at each Club put forward the three best players from their own team.
  • An RLPA Working Group nominates a fourth player to round out the nomination process.
  • In total, 64 players (four from each team) are eligible to receive votes in the end of season poll.
  • Voting is open to all contracted NRL players, with each player selecting opposition players using a 3/2/1 format
  • Players are not penalised for any suspensions and/or fines received during the course of the season.
  • Players cannot vote for their teammates.
  • The player with the most number of votes is award The Players’ Champion

The Players’ Awards will also include a Rookie of the Year, a Dream Team, and the Dennis Tutty Award forboth NRL and NRLW players.

The 64 Contenders for The Players’ Champion (NRL):

Panthers: Dylan Edwards, Isaah Yeo, Apisai Koroisau, Nathan Cleary

Roosters: James Tedesco, Joseph Manu, Joseph Sua’ali’i, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Rabbitohs: Alex Johnston, Keaon Koloamatangi, Junior Tatola, Latrell Mitchell

Sea Eagles: Kieran Foran, Haumole Olakau’atu, Jake Trbojevic, Daly Cherry-Evans

Dragons: Ben Hunt, Moses Suli, Jack De Belin, Jack Bird

Raiders: Joe Tapine, Adam Elliott, Hudson Young, Jack Wighton

Titans: Tino Fa’asuamaleaui, Erin Clark, Moeaki Fotuaika, Beau Fermor

Broncos: Patrick Carrigan, Payne Haas, Adam Reynolds, Corey Oates

Wests Tigers: Joseph Ofahengaue, Kelma Tuilagi, Jackson Hastings, Dane Laurie

Storm: Cameron Munster, Harry Grant, Justin Olam, Nelson Asofa-Solomona 

Warriors: Tohu Harris, Marcelo Montoya, Wayde Egan, Addin Fonua-Blake

Cowboys: Valentine Holmes, Reece Robson, Scott Drinkwater, Jeremiah Nanai

Knights: David Klemmer, Dane Gagai, Dominic Young, Kalyn Ponga

Bulldogs: Max King, Jeremy Marshall-King, Matt Burton, Josh Addo-Carr

Eels: Shaun Lane, Dylan Brown, Mitch Moses, Clinton Gutherson

Sharks: Nicho Hynes, Siosifa Talakai, Ronaldo Mulitalo, Toby Rudolf

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.