You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cowboys duo selected for Maroons

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys forwards Gavin Cooper and Coen Hess have been named in Kevin Walters's Queensland side for the must-win clash with New South Wales at ANZ Stadium on Sunday night.

Cowboys playmaker Michael Morgan was not considered for selection after tearing his left bicep against the Warriors on Friday night.

With Walters naming an extended 18-man squad for Game Two, exactly where the two Cowboys reps will line up is still undecided, but Cooper is widely tipped to retain his left second-row spot, while Hess appears likely to begin the game from the interchange.

Both Cowboys players were impressive for Queensland in the series-opening loss to NSW.

Playing the entire 80 minutes, Cooper finished with a huge 40 tackles and missed just two, while also chipping in seven carries for 63 metres.

Hess's 33-minute stint from the bench in Game One included seven carries for 48 metres and 24 tackles with just one miss.

Walters will consult with his players and medical staff before settling on the final line-up this week.

After withdrawing from Game One due to a hamstring concern, Storm fullback Billy Slater has been named, along with Kalyn Ponga and Tim Glasby who were both part of the Maroons' extended squad for the match in Melbourne.

Anthony Milford, a late Game One inclusion following Slater's withdrawal, missed selection.

Queensland Maroons: Jai Arrow (Titans), Will Chambers (Storm), Gavin Cooper (Cowboys), Dane Gagai (Rabbitohs), Tim Glasby (Storm), Coen Hess (Cowboys), Valentine Holmes (Sharks), Ben Hunt (Dragons), Greg Inglis (c) (Rabbitohs), Felise Kaufusi (Storm), Andrew McCullough (Broncos), Josh McGuire (Broncos), Cameron Munster (Storm), Dylan Napa (Roosters), Josh Papalii (Raiders), Kalyn Ponga (Knights), Billy Slater (Storm), Jarrod Wallace (Titans)

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.