You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys halfback Michael Morgan has been selected to represent the Kangaroos in the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Rugby League World Cup fixtures

The squad, which includes six debutants, will open its World Cup campaign against England on 27 October in Melbourne.

“This squad has the right mix of youth and experience, as well as an overall balance across the positions for a World Cup campaign,” Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga said.

“It was selected based on form, performances in the State of Origin series as well as previously in the green and gold jersey.

“We have a number of players who can play multiple positions and that will be an advantage over the course of what we hope will be six matches.”

Fourteen players from the inaugural Kangaroos Origin Merit Team have been selected in the World Cup Squad.

The full Kangaroos World Cup squad will travel to Fiji for an exhibition match against both Fiji and PNG on 14 October.

Darius Boyd (Broncos)
Will Chambers (Storm)
Boyd Cordner (vc) (Roosters)
Cooper Cronk (Storm)
Josh Dugan (Dragons)
Andrew Fifita (Sharks)
Tyson Frizell (Dragons)
Dane Gagai (Knights)
Matt Gillett (Broncos)
Wade Graham (Sharks)
Valentine Holmes (Sharks)
Ben Hunt (Broncos)
Felise Kaufusi (Storm)
David Klemmer (Bulldogs)
Josh McGuire (Broncos)
James Maloney (Sharks)
Jordan McLean (Storm)
Michael Morgan (North Queensland Toyota Cowboys)
Cameron Munster (Storm)
Billy Slater (Storm)
Cameron Smith (c) (Storm)
Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
Aaron Woods (Tigers)

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.