You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys coach Paul Green has named his lineup for the opening NRL Auckland Nines clash against Manly at sold-out Eden Park.

Outside back Javid Bowen has been left out of the travelling squad of 16 that will be captained for the first time by Gavin Cooper, who is one of four forwards in the starting nine.

The interchange bench, which will be called on possibly as early as the second set, includes damaging ball runners Jason Taumalolo, Tariq Sims, Kyle Feldt, Zac Santo and Michael Morgan, along with workaholic defender Joel Riethmuller.

It will be Santo and winger Curtis Rona’s first official senior match in Cowboys colours.

The opening match kicks off at 11.50am (Qld time) and will be followed by another yellow group match against Canberra at 3.35pm (Qld time).

North Queensland’s final qualifying game will be against the NZ Warriors tomorrow morning.

All matches are live on Fox Sports.

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys: 1 Lachlan Coote, 3 Antonio Winterstein, 4 Kane Linnett, 7 Robert Lui, 9 Ray Thompson, 10 James Tamou, 11 Gavin Cooper, 14 Rory Kostjasyn, 16 Curtis Rona. Interchange: 2 Zac Santo, 6 Michael Morgan, 8 Jason Taumalolo, 12 Tariq Sims, 13 Joel Riethmuller, 15 Kyle Feldt. 16th man: Javid Bowen.

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.