You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Live updates: Cowboys 2022 Presentation Night



For a record sixth time, co-captain Jason Taumalolo has been named the Paul Bowman Medal winner!


We are just moments away from finding out who will take home the 2022 Paul Bowman Medal!


Todd Payten is called on stage to review our final games of the regular season and to present the Cowboys Way Award, which recognises the NRL player who displays the club’s core behaviours and values week-in, week-out.

Winner: Tom Dearden


Life member Aaron Payne is welcomed to the stage to present the Anthony Rock Memorial Award for the 2022 Player’s Player.

Winner: Tom Dearden


Minty welcomes Chairman Lewis Ramsay to the stage for a special announcement. Peter Parr, who was a long-time club stalwart, has been inducted as the Cowboys eleventh life member. Since he joined the club in 2001, Parr held a number of roles, including Director of Football and CEO, as well as being a member of the club’s Board of Directors and Chair of the Football Committee.


We will now have a short meal break. See everyone in about 30 minutes!


Micheal Luck acknowledges our departing players Tom Gilbert, Connelly Lemuelu, Kane Bradley, Emry Pere and Morgan McWhirter, wishing them the best in the future.


General Manager of Football Micheal Luck comes on stage to talk about the team’s form during the Origin period and the Round 15 win over Manly, before updating the Paul Bowman Medal leaderboard up until Round 19.


Cowboys life member Gavin Cooper is welcomed to the stage to announce the Cowboys 2022 Rookie of the Year.

Winner: Jeremiah Nanai


Assistant coach Steve Georgallis joins Minty on stage to talk about two key wins during this crucial period (Eels and Melbourne), before updating the Paul Bowman Medal leaderboard to Round 12.


JCU Chancellor Bill Tweddell is welcomed to the stage to present the JCU Education Award, which recognises a player for their outstanding commitment and dedication to their tertiary studies.

Winner: Scott Drinkwater


Assistant coach Dean Young is welcomed to the stage to talk about the defensive turnaround this year and how much he has enjoyed coaching a player like Reece Robson, before announcing the Paul Bowman Medal leaderboard after six rounds.


We now acknowledge: club debuts, milestones and representatives.

Debuts – Peta Hiku (Round 1), Chad Townsend (Round 1), Jamayne Taunoa-Brown (Round 1), Brendan Elliot (Round 13), Luciano Leilua (Round 16) and Tom Chester (Round 18)

Milestones – Luciano Leilua (100 NRL games), Valentine Holmes (150 NRL games), Chad Townsend (200 NRL games)

Representatives – Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow, Reuben Cotter and Jamayne Taunoa-Brown (Indigenous All Stars), Peta Hiku (New Zealand), Jason Taumalolo (Tonga), Robert Derby (Papua New Guinea), Valentine Holmes, Reuben Cotter, Jeremiah Nanai, Murray Taulagi, Tom Dearden, Tom Gilbert (Queensland).



Our next Gold Stars award is the 2022 Gold Stars Player of the Year.

Winner: Emma Manzelmann


Gavin Lloyd remains on stage to present the Gold Stars Cowboys Way Award, which recognises the key criteria of being humble, hardworking, loyal and never giving up.

Winner: Sareka Mooka


Micheal Luck welcomes Gold Stars Head Coach Gavin Lloyd to the stage to present him with a framed team jersey, before a highlights video of the Gold Stars Premiership season is shown.


Head of Elite Pathways Glenn Hall comes on the stage to talk about the 2022 Young Guns program and the challenges the young men face juggling school, work and football, before awarding the 2022 Young Guns ‘Cowboys Way’ Award.

Winner: Robert Derby


Toyota General Manager – Northern Region Martin Nelson comes to the stage to make a short speech on behalf of our Principal Partner, Toyota and the North Queensland Toyota Dealers.


Jeff Reibel and life member Barry Buchanan make their way to the stage to introduce our first award of the night, the Club Person of the Year.

Winner: Tom Gilbert


Host Glenn “Minty” Mintern welcomes Brenton Creed to the stage for the Welcome to Country.


Welcome to the Cowboys 2022 Presentation Night!


We are an hour away from getting underway here at the Townsville Entertainment & Convention Centre! 

Join us from 5.30pm on Sunday, September 4 as we announce the winners at the North Queensland Toyota Cowboys' 28th Annual Presentation Night! 

Follow our live updates here as we take you through our night of nights, culminating in the Paul Bowman Medal for the 2022 Cowboy of the Year! 

The awards to be presented include: 

- Club Person of the Year 

- Young Guns Cowboys Way Award 

- Gold Stars Cowboys Way Award

- Gold Stars Player of the Year

- JCU Education Award 

- Rookie of the Year

- Players Player of the Year 

- NRL Cowboys Way Award

- Paul Bowman Medal

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.