You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Four North Queensland Toyota Gold Stars have been named in the Queensland Maroons extended squad ahead of June’s Women's Origin match on the Sunshine Coast. 

Fullback Romy Teitzel, hooker Emma Manzelmann and edge forwards Shaniah Power and Rangimarie Edwards-Bruce have all been named in the 32-member squad.

“I think this is the first time we have had more than one picked from this area for the extended squad, so it’s pretty exciting for them,” said Gold Stars head coach Gavin Lloyd.

“Romy is our fullback and captain. She’s tough, is great in support, and gets through a mountain of work.

“Shaniah is a workhorse backrower who led the team in tackles last week and picked up a lot of metres.  

“Rangi is a tough, gritty backrower who just does the hard stuff. She moved to the middle last week and scored a try.

“Finally, Emma is a dummy-half specialist who gets out of dummy-half a couple of times a set and gets us on the front foot.

The Gold Stars, who currently sit third on the QRLW ladder, face off against the Tweed Heads Seagulls at Jack Manski Oval this Sunday at 2pm. 

Maroons extended training squad

Tarryn Aiken – Tweed Seagulls

Belinda Arthur-Clarke – Burleigh Bears

Chelsea Baker – Central Queensland Capras

Annette Brander – Central Queensland Capras

Brittany Breayley-Nati – Burleigh Bears

Ali Brigginshaw – Valleys Diehards

Lauren Brown – Burleigh Bears

Karina Brown – Burleigh Bears

Zara Canfield – Tweed Seagulls

Shenae Ciesiolka – Valleys Diehards

Brianna Clark – Valleys Diehards

Rangimarie Edwards-Bruce – North Queensland Gold Stars

Jess Elliston – Tweed Seagulls

Lavinia Gould – Valleys Diehards

Tazmin Gray – Burleigh Bears

Tallisha Harden – Burleigh Bears

Chelsea Lenarduzzi – Burleigh Bears

Shellie Long – Burleigh Bears

Emma Manzelmann – North Queensland Gold Stars

Shannon Mato – North Sydney Bears

Michaela Peck – Valkyries

Rona Peters – Tweed Seagulls

Shaniah Power – North Queensland Gold Stars

Natassja Purontakanen – Valleys Diehards

Julia Robinson – West Brisbane Panthers

Romy Teitzel – North Queensland Gold Stars

Zahara Temara – Burleigh Bears

Chante Temara – Burleigh Bears

Amy Turner – Tweed Seagulls

Tamika Upton – Burleigh Bears

Meg Ward – Valleys Diehards

Acacia Wulf – West Brisbane Panthers

Cover photo - Emma Manzelmann - Photo by Brett Pascoe

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Principal Partner

Platinum Partners

Major Partners