You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Final team list: Round 1 v Dragons

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys head coach Paul Green has made one change to his 17 for tonight’s season-opening clash against the St George Illawarra Dragons with marquee recruit Josh McGuire to start the game in place of Gavin Cooper.

The remainder of the starting side remains the same with fullback Jordan Kahu, centre Tom Opacic and winger Nene Macdonald all to make their debuts for the club.

Newly minted skipper Michael Morgan is joined in the halves by Te Maire Martin, while vice-captain Jordan McLean leads a forward pack including fellow internationals Matt Scott and Jason Taumalolo as well as Maroons second-rower Coen Hess.

Cooper reverts to the interchange alongside forwards John Asiata and Francis Molo and utility Mitch Dunn.

Outside backs Ben Hampton and Enari Tuala are the final two to drop out of the 21-man squad named by Green on Tuesday.

Saturday’s game kicks off at 6.35pm (AEST).

Cowboys team to play Dragons:

1. Jordan Kahu

2. Nene Macdonald

3. Justin O’Neill

4. Tom Opacic

5.Javid Bowen

6. Te Maire Martin

7. Michael Morgan (C)

8. Matt Scott

9. Jake Granville

10. Jordan McLean (VC)

15. Josh McGuire

12. Coen Hess

13. Jason Taumalolo


11. Gavin Cooper

14. John Asiata

16. Mitch Dunn

17. Francis Molo

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.