You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland players feature heavily in the 2019 under-15 and under-18 female squads announced by the Queensland Rugby League.

Six North Queensland players were selected in both the under-15 and under-18 QRL squads, which are run in conjunction with the Queensland Academy of Sport.

Ben Jeffries, former Cowboys NYC assistant coach and current NRL Lead Game Development Officer for Northern Queensland, is also part of the under-18s coaching staff.

The program brings together 53 of the state's most talented players who have been identified from the south-east, central and northern regions.

Participants will utilise the world-class facilities at the QAS and work with experienced coaches and high-performance leaders from 18-21 January.

Features of the wide-ranging program include skill development, strength and conditioning and testing, tackle technique, leadership profiling and team building.

A major emphasis will also be placed on State of Origin values and reviewing the performance of the Queensland Women's team.

Queensland went down in a thrilling Origin match earlier this year, but the whole-hearted performance of the state's senior women's team is sure to inspire the next generation of talent attending the QAS camp.

The young players will work closely with several experienced coaches, including Jeffries and Deanna Turner (U18), as well as Jim Lappin and Grant Bignell (U15).

QRL Managing Director Robert Moore said the camps will provide a terrific opportunity for the state's young talent.

"With support from the QAS, our female program is getting stronger each year," Moore said.

"Players will go back to their clubs and regions as better players and for many, the experience will take them a step closer to wearing a Queensland State of Origin jersey."

QAS Under 15 Squad:

Charlotte Blackwood (CQ - Gympie JRL)
Raven Tihema-Mako (SEQ - Nerang Roosters)
Lillian Yarrow (CQ - Rockhampton Tigers)
Emily Bella (NQ - Sarina JRLFC)
Emma Barnes (SEQ - Beenleigh JRLFC)
Jaydah Tofae (CQ - Caboolture JRL
Rilee Jorgensen (SEQ - Brothers Ipswich)
Alenna Whipp (CQ - Emerald Cowboys)
Malaela Su'a (SEQ - Waterford RLFC)
Jacinta Carter (SEQ - Norths Juniors)
Gladys Nona (NQ - White Rock JRL)
Tavarna Papalii (SEQ - Nerang Roosters)
Nazareth Blanco (NQ - Sarina JRLFC)
Brandy Yallop (NQ - Central ASA JRL)
Sunny Gerrard (SEQ - Burleigh Heads JRL)
Grace Giampino (CQ - Caboolture JRL)
Delaney Claridge (CQ - Gladstone Junior Raiderettes)
Rialey Baty (SEQ - Waterford RLFC)
Prue Peters (CQ - Brothers Rockhampton JRL)
Briseis Tamwoy (NQ - Townsville Junior Girls)
Libby Surha (NQ - Northern Suburbs JRLC)
Shaylee Joseph (SEQ - Waterford RLFC)
Mackenzie Baty (SEQ - Waterford RLFC)
Fuatino Ah-Him (SEQ - Goodna Eagles)
Hannah Mountford (CQ - Brothers Bundaberg JRL)
Paityne Johns (NQ - Magpies Junior RLC)

QAS Under 18 Squad:

Jasmine Peters (NQ - Northern Suburbs JRLC)
Tamika Bray (NQ - Townsville Junior Girls)
Diaz Seumanutafa (SEQ - Aspley Devils RLFC)
Tiana Raftstrand-Smith (SEQ - Runaway Bay Seagulls RFLC)
Chante Temara (SEQ - Burleigh Heads RLFC)
Tiamo Williams (SEQ - Aspley Devils RLFC)
Xanthe Topping (NQ - Townsville Junior Girls)
Jessikah Reeves (SEQ - Brothers St Brendans RLFC)
Keilee Joseph (SEQ - Waterford RLFC)
Jayda Lofipo (SEQ - Redlands Rugby League)
Abelee Stanley (CQ - Toowoomba Junior League Girls)
Reeghyn Beardmore (CQ - Toowoomba Junior League Girls)
Emma Manzelmann (NQ - Mackay Junior Girls)
Courtney Tamati (SEQ - Waterford RLFC)
Shanaye Watson (NQ - Townsville Junior Girls)
Mackenzie Reid (CQ - Brothers Rockhampton RLFC)
Indee Brown (SEQ - Waterford RLFC)
Makenzie Weale (SEQ – (West Arana Hills RLFC)
Georgia Voll (CQ - Toowoomba Junior League Girls)
Skye Girard (CQ - Hervey Bay JRL)
Jasmin Walters (CQ - Emerald Tigers)
Melanie Watherston (CQ - Kawana JRL)
Fetau Unite (NQ - Magpies Junior RLC)
Acacia Wulf (SEQ - Aspley Devils RLFC)
Aaria Tapsell (SEQ - Beenleigh JRFL)
Abbey Holley (CQ - Toowoomba Junior League Girls)
Lyli Mikaio (SEQ Southern Suburbs RLFC)

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.