You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Taumalolo named in Tongan train-on squad

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys lock Jason Taumalolo headlines a star-studded 29-man train-on squad named today by Tonga coach Kristian Woolf for the historic end-of-season Test against Australia.

Taumalolo, who captained Tonga in their most recent Test against Samoa earlier this year, joins fellow stars Andrew Fifita, David Fusitua, Will Hopoate, Michael Jennings, Tevita Pangai Junior and Sio Siua Taukeiaho in Woolf's train-on squad.

The Mate Ma'a Tonga will play the world champions in a Test at Auckland's Mount Smart Stadium on October 20.

It will be the first time Mate Ma'a Tonga have faced the Kangaroos.

"We are very pleased with the depth in the squad we have managed to name for this every important Test match," said Woolf.

"We feel it is representative of the depth of Tongan rugby league in both the NRL and English Super League, and also rewards players that have made a firm commitment to playing for their country of heritage.

"This will be a huge occasion for Tonga to take on the top-ranked rugby league country in the world, so we need every player we can committed to that goal."

The final Mate Ma'a Tonga squad will be announced next month, and will go into a 10-day team camp leading up to the Test.


For Test v Australia - 20th October 2018 - Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland

Andrew Fifita – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Addin Fonua-Blake – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Mahe Fonua – Wests Tigers
Moeaki Fotuaika – Gold Coast Titans
David Fusitua – Warriors
Siliva Havilli – Canberra Raiders
Ata Hingano – Canberra Raiders
Will Hopoate – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Koniseti Hurrell – Gold Coast Titans
Michael Jennings – Parramatta Eels
Robert Jennings – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Solomone Kata – Warriors
Sione Katoa – Penrith Panthers
Samisoni Langi – Catalans Dragons
Tuimoala Lolohea – Wests Tigers
Sika Manu – Hull FC
Sam Moa – Catalans Dragons
Ben Murdoch-Masila – Warrington Wolves
Joe Ofahengaue – Brisbane Broncos
Tevita Pangai Junior – Brisbane Broncos
Agnatius Paasi – Warriors
Leivaha Pulu – Warriors
Scott Sorensen – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Ukuma Ta'ai – Huddersfield Giants
Jason Taumalolo – North Qld Cowboys
Tevita Tatola – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Sio Siua Taukeiaho – Sydney Roosters
Peni Terepo – Parramatta Eels
Daniel Tupou – Sydney Roosters


Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Principal Partner

Platinum Partners

Major Partners