You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Four Cowboys named to Maroons under 20s

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys youngsters Jake Clifford, Murray Taulagi, Kurt Wiltshire and Logan Bayliss have been named in the Maroons under 20s State of Origin side who will attempt to end their drought against NSW.

Queensland have never beaten the Blues since the inception of the under 20s Origin game in 2012, but Maroons head coach Justin Hodges has named a strong squad to take on NSW at Suncorp Stadium next Wednesday night.

Despite being eligible for the under 20s, Clifford, Taulagi (Northern Pride) and Wiltshire (Mackay Cutters) have all played almost exclusively in the Queensland Cup this season.

Clifford leads the Queensland Cup with 134 points from 15 games this season, with his deadly goal kicking combining with an emerging running game which has resulted in 10 tries.

In just his second full season of rugby league, 19-year-old Taulagi has been in fantastic form for the Pride.

Playing the majority of his games on the wing, Taulagi has scored tries in each of his previous five games and is averaging 105 running metres and three tackle busts a game over the course of the season.

Wiltshire has been a shining light during a tough year for the Cutters. The 20-year-old put together one of the most outstanding individual performances of the season against Wynnum Manly in Round 13, running for 233 metres and busting five tackles to go along with a try, try assist and three line-breaks.

Bayliss has been a dominant force in the front row for the Townville Blackhawks in the Hastings Deering Colts under 20s competition.

The Kingaroy product has run for at least 100 metres in six of his past eight appearances and is averaging almost three tackle busts a game.

Hodges, who made 24 appearances for his state between 2002 and 2015, is passionate about guiding and mentoring Queensland's next generation of Origin stars.

Numerous members of the squad have played in Queensland's premier senior competition this year, including Patrick Carrigan, Clifford and Gehamat Shibasaki.

That trio was involved in the XXXX Queensland Residents squad which took on NSW before Game Two of the Origin series in Sydney.

Next Wednesday's match will also mark the second appearance in maroon this year for David Fifita and Tino Fa'asuamaleaui after the pair played for the Queensland Under 18s at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in June.

Queensland Under 20 squad

Corey Allan - Brisbane Broncos / Souths Logan Magpies
Logan Bayliss - North Queensland Cowboys / Townsville Blackhawks
AJ Brimson - Gold Coast Titans / Tweed Heads Seagulls
Patrick Carrigan - Brisbane Broncos / Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Jake Clifford - North Queensland Cowboys / Northern Pride
Tino Fa'asuamaleaui - Melbourne Storm / Easts Tigers
Beau Fermor - Newcastle Knights
David Fifita - Brisbane Broncos / Souths Logan Magpies
Thomas Flegler - Brisbane Broncos / Souths Logan Magpies
Louis Geraghty - Melbourne Storm / Sunshine Coast Falcons
Harry Grant - Melbourne Storm / Sunshine Coast Falcons
Corey Horsburgh - Canberra Raiders
Sam Johnstone - South Sydney Rabbitohs
Lachlan Lam - Sydney Roosters
Reed Mahoney - Parramatta Eels
Tristan Sailor - St George Illawarra Dragons
Gehamat Shibasaki - Brisbane Broncos / Norths Devils
Murray Taulagi - North Queensland Cowboys / Northern Pride
Kurt Wiltshire - North Queensland Cowboys / Mackay Cutters

Coach: Justin Hodges


Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.