You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Jake Clifford

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys contracted youngster Jake Clifford has capped off a rapid rise in his first season of senior football by being named in the XXXX Queensland Residents side to play NSW next Sunday.

The 20-year-old has been named as 18th man in a strong Queensland side, which includes representatives from 10 Queensland Cup sides.

Clifford, the 2017 NYC Player of the Year, is enjoying an outstanding season for Cowboys feeder club the Northern Pride.

The 20-year-old leads the competition with 129 points in 14 games, courtesy of 44 goals and 10 tries.
"I'm really excited," Clifford said about his Queensland Residents selection.

"I'm really looking forward to the week with the boys. It's a really good squad, a lot of the players have NRL experience and there's some veterans of the game as well so getting experience off them will benefit my football."

The annual representative clash will be played before Game Two of the State of Origin series at Sydney's ANZ Stadium.

Northern Pride, Wynnum Manly, Souths Logan, Burleigh, Easts and Redcliffe will be represented by multiple players, while Sunshine Coast, Ipswich, Townsville and Norths all have one representative in the 18-man line-up.

Queensland coach Jon Buchanan said state selectors were faced with a difficult task, describing the quality of the Queensland Cup competition as having gone to another level.

"We're healthy in every position which made it extremely tough to pick a team. There were a number of other players who also deserved an opportunity, but unfortunately for them, we can only pick 18," Buchanan said.

Some familiar faces return from last year's team, with Jonus Pearson, Billy Walters, Sam Anderson, Mitchell Cronin, Nathaniel Neale, Blake Leary and Lachlan Timm all set to back up in maroon colours.

The XXXX Queensland Residents produced a clinical performance last year under Buchanan, whose team ran out 36-6 winners over the NSW Intrust Super Cup Premiership Residents.
The game kicks off at 4.10pm on Sunday.

Queensland Residents: 1. Scott Drinkwater (Tigers), 2. Jonus Pearson (Dolphins), 3. Marion Seve (Magpies), 4. Gehamat Shibasaki (Devils), 5. Kalifa Faifai-Loa (Blackhawks), 6. Billy Walters (Tigers), 7. Jamal Fogarty (Bears), 8. Nathaniel Neale (Jets), 9. Patrick Politoni (Bears), 10. Sam Anderson (Dolphins), 11. Patrick Kaufusi (Tigers), 12. Blake Leary (Bears), 13. Patrick Mago (Magpies), 14. Mitchell Cronin (Seagulls), 15. Patrick Carrigan (Seagulls), 16. Lachlan Timm (Falcons) 17. William Bugden (Pride), 18. Jake Clifford (Pride)

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.