You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Final team: Cowboys v Rabbitohs

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys co-captain Matt Scott will miss this afternoon's clash with South Sydney after failing to overcome an ongoing neck issue.

It marks the second successive game that Scott has sat out after also missing the Round 15 fixture with the Warriors.

Coach: Break came at a good time

Cowboys head coach Paul Green has drafted in rookie second-rower Shane Wright to make his season debut from the interchange with Corey Jensen moving to the starting side.

Wright made his NRL debut in Round 24 last season, which marks his only appearance in the top grade to date.

The 22-year-old second rower has been in impressive form for the Mackay Cutters in the Queensland Cup in recent weeks after missing much of the first half of the season through injury.

Wright joins utility Ben Hampton and forwards Shane Fensom and Francis Molo on the interchange.

The rest of the squad is unchanged.

Today's game kicks off at 4.10pm.

COWBOYS: 1. Lachlan Coote, 2. Kyle Feldt, 3. Enari Tuala, 4. Kane Linnett, 5. Antonio Winterstein, 6. Te Maire Martin, 7. Johnathan Thurston (C), 16. Corey Jensen, 9. Jake Granville, 10. Scott Bolton, 11. Gavin Cooper, 12. Coen Hess, 13. Jason Taumalolo. Interchange: 14. Ben Hampton, 15. Shaun Fensom, 17. Francis Molo, 21. Shane Wright.

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.