You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tonight's teams: Cowboys v Broncos

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys head coach Paul Green has named the same 17 that defeated Cronulla in Round 1 for tonight's XXXX Derby at Suncorp Stadium.

Cowboys five-eighth Te Maire Martin is again set to partner co-captain Johnathan Thurston in the halves, while Corey Jensen retains his spot on the four-man interchange bench alongside John Asiata, Coen Hess and Scott Bolton.

Michael Morgan (abdominal injury) was ruled out of the game on Thursday and did not travel to Brisbane after initially being named in the 21-man squad.

Frank Molo was also dropped off the list on Thursday and today, Enari Tuala comes out of the squad, with Kyle Laybutt to warm up with the side as 18th man. 

Tonight’s match marks the inaugural XXXX Derby, celebrating the Queensland rivalry and thrilling, edge-of-your-seat encounters between the two sides in recent years. 

The teams will play for the perpetual XXXX Derby trophy, with the winner holding first rights to the silverware until their reciprocal Round 22 clash at 1300SMILES Stadium on Thursday 9 August. 

The Cowboys were last-start winners over the Sharks, while the Broncos are looking for their first win of 2018 after losing to the Dragons in Round 1. 

The game kicks off at 7.05pm (Qld). 

Cowboys: 1. Ben Hampton, 2. Kyle Feldt, 3. Justin O’Neill, 4. Javid Bowen, 5. Antonio Winterstein, 6. Te Maire Martin, 7. Johnathan Thurston (c), 8. Matt Scott (c), 9. Jake Granville, 10. Jordan McLean, 11. Gavin Cooper, 12. Ethan Lowe, 13. Jason Taumalolo. Interchange: 14. John Asiata, 15. Coen Hess, 16. Scott Bolton, 17. Corey Jensen.

Broncos: 1. Darius Boyd (c), 2. Corey Oates, 3. James Roberts, 4. Jordan Kahu, 5. Jamayne Isaako, 6. Anthony Milford, 7. Kodi Nikorima, 8. Matt Lodge, 9. Andrew McCullough, 10. Tevita Pangai, 11. Alex Glenn, 12. Matt Gillett, 13. Josh McGuire. Interchange: 14. Sam Thaiday, 15. Joe Ofahengaue, 16. Korbin Sims, 17. Tom Opacic.

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.