You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys Under-20s coach Aaron Payne has named his final 17-man team for today’s Round 23 National Youth Competition match against the Penrith Panthers. 

NYC preview: Cowboys v Panthers

Payne has made one injury-induced change to the side named on Tuesday, with hooker Calum Gahan (ankle injury) not making the trip to Sydney. Back-up No.9 Kyle Paterson comes into the starting side, with Sam Murphy into the 17 after being part of an extended 23-man squad named earlier in the week.

Payne will be looking for another strong showing from his team this weekend following their 50-6 win over the Melbourne Storm last start. 

Saturday’s game sees the second-placed Panthers (13 wins, five losses, two draws) host the fourth-placed Cowboys (12 wins, eight losses), with victory guaranteeing the NQ boys a berth in the 2017 finals.

The game at Pepper Stadium kicks off at 5.15pm.

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys NYC: 1. Kalyn Ponga, 2. Michael Carroll, 3. Enari Tuala, 4. Kurt Wiltshire, 5. Murray Taulagi, 6. Mitch Dunn (c), 7. Jake Clifford, 8. Kaleb Fuimaono, 14. Kyle Paterson, 10. Connor Luhan, 11. Cody Maughan, 12. Ryan Lloyd, 13. Corey Horsburgh. Interchange: 15. Jack Glossop, 16. Jayden Stephens, 17. Jack Lote, 20. Sam Murphy.

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.