You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys legends Brent Tate and Matthew Bowen have been named among a record 46 NRL ambassadors to take on a host of community programs throughout 2017 in a formal ceremony hosted in Sydney.

Former Cowboy Dallas Johnson is also part of the ambassador group, who will join NRL clubs and the wider NRL community in supporting numerous community initiatives throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific, all aimed at improving lives and educating communities on positive wellbeing.

Bowen, a Cowboys life member and community ambassador, said it’s an exciting role that will bring plenty of opportunities to give back to the North Queensland community.

“Not only is it a great way to give back to our youngest supporters, but it’s also an important opportunity to teach the next generation of kids to be inclusive and respectful both on and off the field,” he said.

“The key message in all these programs is respect, belonging and support within a team or community and celebrating individual differences.”

Bowen is about to embark on his first NRL ambassador duty for the year with NRL Community Carnival visits to Cairns and Cape York this week.

Long-time NRL ambassador Brent Tate whole-heartedly supports the NRL’s key pillars of Health, Respect and Learn across their community programs.

“It’s a privilege to be able to deliver positive messages to the kids throughout North Queensland who see the sport of rugby league as something to aspire to,” Tate said.

“Throughout my career in the sport, being an ambassador is something I always wanted to do and I'm thrilled that I can be part of something so influential.”

2017 NRL ambassadors: Roy Asotasi, Matthew Bowen, Sam Bremner, Danny Buderus, Terry Campese, Petero Civoniceva, Ben Creagh, Jamie Feeney, Mario Fenech, Nathan Friend, Joe Galuvao, Tazmin Gray, Dene Halatau, Georgia Hale, Steph Hancock, Bronson Harrison, Nathan Hindmarsh, Justin Hodges, Jenni-Sue Hoepper, Dan Hunt, Dallas Johnson, Brett Kimmorley, Matt King, Jason King, Renae Kunst, Darren Lockyer, Alex McKinnon, Steven Menzies, Anthony Minichiello, Karyn Murphy, Corey Parker, Frank Puletua, Jerome Ropati, George Rose, Ben Ross, Andrew Ryan, Ruan Sims, John Skandalis, David Solomona, Maddie Studdon, Brent Tate, Alan Tongue, Clinton Toopi, Dean Widders, Craig Wing, Rebecca Young.

For more information on NRL Community programs, visit

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.