You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Australian selectors and head coach Tim Sheens today added five Toyota Cowboys to the train-on squad for the upcoming Four Nations Tournament and Prime Minister’s XIII match against Papua New Guinea.

Not surprisingly, current Test players Matthew Scott, Johnathan Thurston and James Tamou had their names included on the shortlist.

Fullback Michael Morgan has been rewarded for his outstanding 2014 season by gaining his call-up while Gavin Cooper is in line to retain the PM’s XIII jersey he earned for the first time last year.

A final squad for the annual match against the PNG Kumuls at Kokopo on Sunday 12 October will be announced next Monday.

The Four Nations squad for the series against New Zealand, Great Britain and Samoa will be selected after the PM’s match.

The NRL revealed today that a number of players had been forced to withdraw from the train-on squad due to injury, including Dale Copley, Justin Hodges, Matt Gillett, Brett Morris, Josh Dugan, Trent Merrin, Will Hopoate, Andrew Fifita, Michael Gordon, Billy Slater, Aidan Sezer and Dave Taylor.

Updated PMXIII / KANGAROOS TRAIN-ON SQUAD: Ben Hunt (Broncos), Corey Parker (Broncos), Josh McGuire (Broncos), Sam Thaiday (Broncos), Gavin Cooper (Cowboys), James Tamou (Cowboys), Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys), Matt Scott (Cowboys), Michael Morgan (Cowboys), Jarryd Hayne (Eels), Beau Scott (Knights), Kurt Gidley (Knights), Willie Mason (Knights), Anthony Milford (Raiders), Jack Wighton (Raiders), Jarrod Croker (Raiders), Josh Papalii (Raiders), Anthony Watmough (Sea Eagles), Brenton Lawrence (Sea Eagles), Brett Stewart (Sea Eagles), Daly Cherry Evans (Sea Eagles), Luke Lewis (Sharks), Cameron Smith (Storm), Cooper Cronk (Storm), Ryan Hoffman (Storm), William Chambers (Storm), Aaron Woods (Tigers), Robbie Farah (Tigers), Greg Bird (Titans), Jacob Lillyman (Warriors).

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.