You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Blues call in fresh faces for Game Two Origin team

New South Wales Blues coach Michael Maguire has named his 20-player squad for Game Two of the Ampol State of Origin series to be played in Melbourne on June 26.

Latrell Mitchell headlines a host of changes to the Blues, with the Rabbitohs superstar set for his first Origin appearance since 2021 after being named in the centres to replace the suspended Joseph Sua'ali'i.

Mitchell is one of several new faces in the extended New South Wales squad, with Connor Watson, Dylan Edwards, Mitchell Moses and Cameron Murray all called in as the Blues look to level the series at 1-1.

Watson will make his debut after being named on the bench in place of Hudson Young while Murray joins the side in place of Sharks lock Cameron McInnes.

Moses and Edwards replace Nicho Hynes and James Tedesco.

Latrell Mitchell last played for the Blues in 2021 where they won the series.
Latrell Mitchell last played for the Blues in 2021 where they won the series. ©NRL Photos

The Eels No.7 did not play for two months in the lead-up to Game One due to a foot injury and was deemed not eligible for selection as a result by the Blues coaching staff, while Edwards will make his Origin debut after being a late withdrawal ahead of the series opener with a quad strain.

As they did in the lead-up to Game One, the Blues will begin camp in Sydney on Monday morning before heading to Katoomba on Tuesday for their training preparations ahead of their trip to Melbourne early next week. 

The Maroons will announce their team for Game Two on Monday morning.

Blues team for Game Two

  1. Dylan Edwards (Panthers)
  2. Brian To'o (Panthers)
  3. Stephen Crichton (Bulldogs)
  4. Latrell Mitchell (Rabbitohs)
  5. Zac Lomax (Dragons)
  6. Jarome Luai (Panthers)
  7. Mitchell Moses (Eels)
  8. Jake Trbojevic, capt. (Sea Eagles)
  9. Reece Robson (Cowboys)
  10. Payne Haas (Broncos)
  11. Liam Martin (Panthers)
  12. Angus Crichton (Roosters)
  13. Cameron Murray (Rabbitohs)
  14. Connor Watson (Roosters)
  15. Isaah Yeo (Panthers)
  16. Haumole Olakau'atu (Sea Eagles)
  17. Spencer Leniu (Roosters)
  18. Mitch Barnett (Warriors)
  19. Cameron McInnes (Sharks)
  20. Luke Keary (Roosters)

Coach: Michael Maguire

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.