You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL announce nominees for 2023 NRLW Dally M awards

The National Rugby League (NRL) has today announced the nominees for the 2023 NRLW Dally M Team of the Year as well as several individual Dally M awards.

The Dally M Awards recognise the game’s most outstanding performers from both the NRL Telstra Premiership and NRL Telstra Women’s Premiership each year, with this year’s awards to be presented on Wednesday, September 27 in Sydney.

Significant changes to the Dally M voting process for both the NRL and NRLW competitions were introduced for the 2023 season.

This season, two independent judges each gave out votes on a 3,2,1 basis for every game, meaning players were able to earn a maximum of six votes per game compared to three in previous years.

The decision to add in a second judge to assess each game in 2023 will increase the final total of points to players, but also the level of fairness in further removing potential variances that arise from a single judge voting on a game.

2022 Dally M NRL and NRLW teams of the year

Any player suspended for a total of two NRLW regular season games becomes ineligible to claim any Dally M award, while a one-game suspension brings with it a deduction of six points this year (compared to a deduction of three points in past seasons). Players who become ineligible for awards due to suspension are still able to pick up points in subsequent games so as not to distort the voting process throughout the regular season.

However, players who are suspended for two games will be ineligible to collect any awards, deeming players such as Mia Middleton, Ashleigh Werner, Kennedy Cherrington, Mackenzie Weale, Annetta-Claudia Nuuausala and Hopoate not available.

The NRLW Dally M Team of the Year recognises the best player in each position across all rounds of the regular season. Judges vote on the best player in each position at regular intervals throughout the year with a further vote conducted at the end of the regular season.  

2023 NRL Dally M Awards nominees

Award Nominees
Fullback of the Year Teagan Berry (Dragons)
Evania Pelite (Titans)
Tamika Upton (Knights)
Winger of the Year
(two winners)
Jakiya Whitfeld (Wests Tigers)
Sheridan Gallagher (Knights)
Julia Robinson (Broncos)
Jayme Fressard (Roosters)
Shakiah Tungai (Raiders)
Destiny Mino-Sinapati (Titans)
Centre of the Year
(two winners)
Annessa Biddle (Sharks)
Mele Hufanga (Broncos)
Jaime Chapman (Titans)
Shanice Parker (Knights)
Jessica Sergis (Roosters)
Isabelle Kelly (Roosters)
Five-Eighth of the Year Gayle Broughton (Broncos)
Tarryn Aiken (Roosters)
Zahara Temara (Raiders)
Halfback of the Year Raecene McGregor (Dragons)
Lauren Brown (Titans)
Ali Brigginshaw (Broncos)
Hooker of the Year Destiny Brill (Broncos)
Emma Manzelmann (Cowboys)
Brittany Breayley-Nati (Titans)
Prop of the Year
(two winners)
Ellie Johnston (Sharks)
Millie Boyle (Roosters)
Sarah Togatuki (Wests Tigers)
Jessika Elliston (Titans)
Brianna Clark (Broncos)
Shannon Mato (Titans)
Second Row of the Year
(two winners)
Kezie Apps (Wests Tigers)
Shaylee Bent (Titans)
Otesa Pule (Roosters)
Olivia Kernick (Roosters)
Yasmin Clydsdale (Knights)
Mahalia Murphy (Eels)
Lock of the Year Mariah Denman (Broncos)
Simaima Taufa (Raiders)
Georgia Hale (Titans)
Coach of the Year Ronald Griffiths (Knights)
Karyn Murphy (Titans)
Darrin Borthwick (Raiders)
Captain of the Year Georgia Hale (Titans)
Ali Brigginshaw (Broncos)
Simaima Taufa (Raiders)
Rookie of the Year Annessa Biddle (Sharks)
China Polata (Cowboys)
Rilee Jorgensen (Titans)
Try of the Year Teagan Berry (Dragons)
Leianne Tufuga (Wests Tigers)
Jesse Southwell (Knights)
Tackle of the Year Jakiya Whitfeld (Wests Tigers)
Rilee Jorgensen (Titans)
Krystal Blackwell (Cowboys)
NRLW Provan-Summons Medal Lavinia Gould (Broncos)
Toni Hunt (Broncos)
Rilee Jorgensen (Titans)
Top Try Scorer Winner – Teagan Berry (Dragons)
Top Point Scorer Winner – Ali Brigginshaw (Broncos)
Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.