You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Live updates: Cowboys 2023 Presentation Night



Now it’s time to crown the winner of our NRLW Cowboy of the Year and Paul Bowman Medallist for 2023!

NRLW Winner: Emma Manzelmann

NRL Winner: Scott Drinkwater


NRL Head Coach Todd Payten is welcomed to the stage to say a few words, before announcing our third last award of the night – the Cowboys Way Award.

WINNER: Jordan McLean


NRLW Head Coach Ben Jeffries takes the stage to talk about the NRLW season and announce the next award, the NRLW Cowboys Way Award.

WINNER: China Polata


Now life member Aaron Payne is set to name the NRL Players’ Player Award.

WINNER: Scott Drinkwater


We shift our focus to the NRLW with Head of NRLW Anita Creenaune coming to the stage to talk about the season, before announcing the 2023 NRLW Players’ Player of the Year..

WINNER: Emma Manzelmann


Last but not least, 2015 Premiership winner, James Tamou. 


2019 Club Person of the Year Ben Hampton comes to the stage to give his farewell speech.

Hampton: "Where have the 14 years gone? It's been a hell of a ride, but I wouldn't change anything anything about it."


Luck speaks about the 2023 departing players, before welcoming Mitch Dunn, Ben Hampton and James Tamou to give their farewell speeches. First up, Mitch Dunn. 


General Manager of Football Micheal Luck looks over the next seven rounds and provides an update to the points tally to the end of round 21.

16 – Scott Drinkwater
13 – Tom Dearden
12 – Jake Granville
8 – Tom Chester & Valentine Holmes


1995 Cowboys Rookie of the Year Michael Hogue is welcomed to the stage to announce this year’s recipients of the men’s and women’s Rookie of the Year.

NRLW WINNER: Fran Goldthorp

NRL WINNER: Kulikefu Finefeuiaki


We are heading for our first meal break. See you all back in 30 minutes.


Assistant Coach Ben Rauter discusses the next seven rounds before we get a look at who leads the points tally after Round 14.

11 – Jake Granville
8 – Tom Chester & Valentine Holmes
7 – Jordan McLean & Reuben Cotter


Member of the JCU Council Anthony Leicht announces our fifth award of the night, the James Cook University Education Award.

WINNER: Reuben Cotter


Next us is the Townsville Bulletin Fans Choice Award.


NRL WINNER: Reuben Cotter


Cowboys assistant coach Dean Young wraps up the first seven rounds of the season, before revealing the Paul Bowman Medal tally for the opening seven rounds.

8 – Tom Chester & Valentine Holmes
6 – Jake Granville
5 – Griffin Neame
3 – Reuben Cotter, Tom Dearden & Scott Drinkwater


Minty acknowledges all of our NRL and NRLW debuts, milestones and representative honours, including All-Stars, State of Origin and International honours.


Head of Elite Pathways Glenn Hall comes to the stage to talk about the Young Guns program and announce the winner of the Young Guns Cowboys Way Award

WINNER: Wil Sullivan


Cowboys CEO Jeff Reibel is invited to the stage along with Life Member Number Two, Barry Buchanan, to present our first award of the night, the Club Person of the Year.

WINNER: James Tamou


Cowboys Chairman Lewis Ramsay comes to the stage to say a few words and then welcomes Toyota General Manager – Northern Region Martin Nelson for his speech.


Host Glenn “Minty” Mintern welcomes Brenton Creed to the stage for the Welcome to Country.


Welcome to the Cowboys 2023 Presentation Night!

[4.00pm Thursday]

Join us from 6.00pm on Wednesday, September 20 as we announce the winners at the North Queensland Toyota Cowboys' 29th Annual Presentation Night.

Follow our live updates here as we see who will be crowned the 2023 NRLW Cowboy of the Year and Paul Bowman Medallist.

Awards to be presented:

  • Club Person of the Year
  • Cowboys Way (NRL/NRLW/Young Guns)
  • Townsville Bulletin Fan Award (NRL/NRLW)
  • JCU Education Award
  • Rookie of the Year (NRL/NRLW)
  • Players' Player (NRL/NRLW)
  • NRLW Player of the Year
  • Paul Bowman Medal
Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.