You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The old adage of 'playing to the final whistle' was certainly true for North Queensland in Round 15, with Todd Payten's side producing a thrilling comeback to down the Sea Eagles at home.

Trailing 26-12 with less than eight minutes to play, the Cowboys produced an incredible three tries in four minutes to stun the home side, and the Telstra Tracker highlighted just how important the halves pairing of Chad Townsend and Tom Dearden were for Todd Payten's side in the victory.

Of all players who took to the field across the Telstra Premiership last week, Townsend and Dearden were the only two to cover more than 10 kilometres of ground — such was their relentlessness in helping their team home.

Hooker Reece Robson also covered 9,583 metres to rank fifth among all players.

Dearden's efforts were of particular note with the playmaker covering significantly more metres at a speed greater than 20 kilometres per hour than any other player in the competition. The Cowboys half recorded 892 metres of "high speed distance" — well clear of Broncos edge Jordan Riki (who had 792 metres) and Cowboys teammate Murray Taulagi, who finished third with 742 metres.

Cowboys comeback complete

Elsewhere, Panthers winger Taylan May recorded the fastest speed of the round with a maximum velocity of 34.7 kilometres per hour in his side's win over the Warriors, narrowly edging out Cowboys flyer Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (34.5 km/h).

Match Highlights: Warriors v Panthers

Telstra Tracker: Round 15

Total Distance

  1. Chad Townsend (Cowboys) — 10,078 metres
  2. Tom Dearden (Cowboys) — 10,033 metres
  3. Enari Tuala (Knights) — 9,752 metres
  4. Adam Clune (Knights) — 9,746 metres
  5. Reece Robson (Cowboys) — 9,583 metres

Maximum Velocity

  1. Taylan May (Panthers) — 34.7 km/h
  2. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Cowboys) — 34.5 km/h
  3. Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks) — 33.9 km/h
  4. Xaiver Savage (Raiders) — 33.8 km/h
  5. Daine Laurie (Wests Tigers) — 33.7 km/h

High Speed Distance (metres > 20 km/h)

  1. Tom Dearden (Cowboys) — 892 metres
  2. Jordan Riki (Broncos) — 792 metres
  3. Murray Taulagi (Cowboys) — 742 metres
  4. Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks) — 722 metres
  5. Will Kennedy (Sharks) — 717 metres

Sprint Distance (metres > 25 km/h)

  1. Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks) — 305 metres
  2. Murray Taulagi (Cowboys) — 280 metres
  3. David Nofoaluma (Wests Tigers) — 246 metres
  4. Valentine Holmes (Cowboys) — 224 metres
  5. Will Kennedy (Sharks) — 219 metres
Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.