You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Heatley win Try for 5! Aon Challenge

A big effort in going to school five days a week has paid off for Heatley State School, winners of the 2020 Try for 5! Aon Challenge and the new proud owners of a framed, signed Cowboys jersey for their school.

It was a close contest with fellow challenge participants Townsville West State School and Wulguru State School, with less than one per cent separating the schools for their attendance in Semester 2 last year!

Proudly supported by leading global professional services firm Aon, the challenge is an intra-school competition where attendance across P-6 is tracked on the challenge leaderboard, with term prizes for students and families and the major end-of-year prize.

Cowboys Chief Community & Government Relations Manager Fiona Pelling congratulated the schools on their strong competition.

“Our three Aon Challenge schools have a great friendly rivalry in who tops the leaderboard in school attendance and we always look forward to seeing the results,” Ms Pelling said.

“Well done to Heatley State School for winning this round and also to Wulguru and Townsville West for keeping the pressure on by motivating and rewarding their students for coming to school.

“We also understand that all three schools have continued to improve their attendance in term one so it will be a very interesting challenge year!”

Dean Payne, Matthew Bowen & Louise Wilkinson with Heatley State School's Try for 5! prize
Dean Payne, Matthew Bowen & Louise Wilkinson with Heatley State School's Try for 5! prize

Aon’s Townsville Branch Manager, Dean Payne, was on hand at Heatley State School to present their prize with Cowboys community engagement officer Matthew Bowen.

“Aon is extremely proud to partner with the Cowboys to encourage school attendance. Being here today with the challenge winners is a real treat,” Mr Payne said.

“Try for 5! is a great program that’s making a real difference in these school communities and it’s very special for our team at Aon to be a part of it.”

The Try for 5! program is partnering with 15 schools across North Queensland in 2021 with the support of the Australian Government, Queensland Government, Aon and Regional Express (REX).

Try for 5! schools:

  • Balaclava State School
  • Bloomfield River State School
  • Cairns West State School
  • Cooktown State School
  • Doomadgee State School
  • Garbutt State School
  • Heatley State School
  • Sunset State School
  • Townsville West State School
  • Townview State School
  • Vincent State School
  • Western Cape College – Weipa
  • Western Cape College – Mapoon
  • Woree State School
  • Wulguru State School
Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.