You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cowboys duo recognised at QRL Awards night

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys lock Tom Gilbert has capped off an outstanding 2019 season with two awards at Friday night’s QRL Awards Night in Brisbane.

Gilbert, who ran for the third most metres of any player in the competition (3,343) was awarded the Pedro Gallagher Queensland Cup Rookie of the Year.

The 19-year-old Townsville Blackhawk was also named the Q-Cup lock of the Team of the Year, beating out the Jamil Hopoate (Redcliffe Dolphins) and Jordan Kenworthy (Mackay Cutters).

In 24 appearances for Townsville, the North Devils Brisbane junior averaged 139.3 metres, 48.9 post-contact metres, 29.5 tackles and two tackle-breaks a game.

Meanwhile, exciting young fullback Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow was named the joint Mal Maninga Player of the Year alongside the Norths Devils’ Joshua James.

The 18-year-old scored an incredible 13 tries in six games for the Blackhawks, averaging 202.8 metres and 6.7 tackle breaks a game.

Tabuai-Fidow was earlier this week named as one of four Cowboys junior contracted players that will be elevated to an NRL development contract in 2020.