You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Round 1, 2011: 4 make Cowboys debuts

Ahead of Friday night's XXXX Derby against the Brisbane Broncos at Suncorp Stadium, we thought we'd look back at a previous match-up between the two sides. 

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys head coach Neil Henry has named four of his new 2011 recruits for the club’s season opener against the Brisbane Broncos at Suncorp Stadium on Friday night. (7:30pm)

Experienced forwards Glenn Hall, Dallas Johnson and Ashton Sims have all been named in the new look Cowboys starting pack for the derby.

Meanwhile, ex-Sydney Roosters utility Ben Jones has been named in the No. 14 jersey and is set to start off the bench.

North Queensland Cowboys

1. Matt Bowen

2. Ashley Graham

3. Will Tupou

4. Willie Tonga

5. Michael Bani

6. Ray Thompson

7. Johnathan Thurston (c)

8. Matt Scott (c)

9. Aaron Payne

17. Ashton Sims

11. Scott Bolton

12. Glenn Hall

13. Dallas Johnson

10. James Tamou

14. Ben Jones

15. Leeson Ah Mau

16. Gavin Cooper

Coach: Neil Henry

Brisbane Broncos

1. Josh Hoffman

2. Jharal Yow Yeh

3. Gerard Beale

4. Jack Reed

5. Dane Gagai

6. Darren Locker

7. Peter Wallace

17. Shane Tronc

9. Andrew McCullough

10. Scott Anderson

11. Alex Glenn

12. Matt Gillett

13. Corey Parker

8. Sam Thaiday

14. Ben Hunt

15. Ben Te’o

16. Josh McGuire

Coach: Anthony Griffin  


Cowboys - 16: Tries: Bani, Tamou, Tupou. Goals: Thurston (2/3) d. 

Broncos - 14: Tries: Gagai, Reed, Yow Yeh. Goals: Parker (1/3)

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Principal Partner

Platinum Partners

Major Partners