You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Former NRL Dally M winner Ben Barba is leaving the English Super League on a high, taking out the competition's highest individual honour before returning to the Telstra Premiership with the Cowboys next season.

Barba was named the Super League Man of Steel on Tuesday for his performances with St Helens, where he has led the league for tries with 28, while also ranking second in the competition for tackle breaks and third for try assists.

The 29-year-old, who will join North Queensland in the off-season, pipped St Helens teammate James Roby and Canberra Raiders-bound Wigan forward John Bateman to the prize.

He is the sixth Australian to win the award and the first since the Wigan winger Pat Richards in 2010.

Full List of Super League Award Winners

Hit Man (Top tackler) - Paul McShane (Castleford Tigers)
Metre Maker - Bill Tupou (Wakefield Trinity)
Top Gun - Luke Gale (Castleford Tigers)
Top Try Scorer - Ben Barba (St Helens)
Foundation of the Year - Leeds Rhinos Foundation
Club of the Year - Warrington Wolves
Coach of the Year - Shaun Wane (Wigan Warriors)
Young Player of the Year - Jacob Trueman (Castleford Tigers)
Woman of Steel - Georgia Roche (Castleford Tigers)
Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel - Ben Barba (St Helens)

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.