You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
McLean retains Roos jersey

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys prop Jordan McLean has retained his Kangaroos jersey, named in coach Mal Meninga's Test side to play New Zealand and Tonga later this month.

McLean overcame a foot injury suffered in Round 4 of the 2018 NRL Telstra Premiership to return to the field for the Cowboys against Newcastle in Round 20.

South Sydney's Greg Inglis has been appointed Kangaroos captain following the representative retirement of Cameron Smith.

The 19-man squad includes four debutants; Damien Cook (Rabbitohs), Latrell Mitchell (Roosters), Tyrone Peachey (Panthers) and James Tedesco (Roosters).

The Kangaroos will play the Kiwis on 13 October and Tonga on 20 October at Mt Smart Stadium.

"This is a new era for the Kangaroos and it is a very exciting one, based on the talent available," Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga said.

"There is certainly a strong showing from the NSW squad which won the State of Origin series and we have a number of players who performed exceptionally well through the Finals Series as well as in the Grand Final.

"While there are only two Test matches for the Kangaroos this year they are extremely important to me and this squad.

"This will give us a good gauge of who we will be looking at to lead the Kangaroos into the future.

"The Kangaroos have not played the Kiwis in New Zealand for four years, and have not played in Auckland for six years, so the October 13 Test match will be an extremely important one for us.

"The first Test match ever against Tonga will also be a historic occasion not only for the Kangaroos but for the game as well."

Kangaroos squad

Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Panthers)
Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles)
Damien Cook (Rabbitohs)
Boyd Cordner (Roosters)
Tyson Frizell (Dragons)
Valentine Holmes (Sharks)
Ben Hunt (Dragons)
Greg Inglis (c) (Rabbitohs)
Felise Kaufusi (Storm)
David Klemmer (Bulldogs)
Josh McGuire (Broncos)
Jordan McLean (Cowboys)
Latrell Mitchell (Roosters)
Cameron Munster (Storm)
Tyrone Peachey (Panthers)
James Tedesco (Roosters)
Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
Aaron Woods (Sharks)

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.