You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cowboy of the Year!

Jason Taumalolo has etched his name into North Queensland Toyota Cowboys history by claiming a record third consecutive Paul Bowman Medal at tonight's 24th Annual Presentation Ball at the Townsville Entertainment & Convention Centre.

Still aged just 25, Taumalolo is the first Cowboys player to claim three consecutive Player of the Year awards and now trails only Johnathan Thurston's four for the most in club history.

The superstar lock also became the first Cowboy to win three Players' Player gongs, breaking a six-way tie with previous two-time winners John Lomax (97-98), Matt Sing (02-03), Luke O'Donnell (06-09), Matt Scott (10-13) and Thurston (11-14).

The 2016 Dally M Medal winner enjoyed another outstanding season in 2018.

Taumalolo led the NRL with 1743 post-contact metres in 23 games, finished second with 4104 total running metres and 13th with 97 tackle breaks.

His destructive running style and bruising defence has been widely publicised over the course of his career, but Taumalolo showcased the grittier side of his game in 2018.

The Tongan captain played through a lingering quad issue for much of the back half of the season and stepped up as the unquestioned leader of the forward pack when fellow representative big-men Matt Scott and Jordan McLean missed significant time through injuries.

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Principal Partner

Platinum Partners

Major Partners