You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cowboys give back to their junior clubs

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys players have paid special tribute to grassroots rugby league by donating their jerseys from February's Testimonial match to their junior clubs.

The squad for the Johnathan Thurston-Cameron Smith Testimonial game at Suncorp Stadium have signed and donated their individual jerseys to the clubs that helped start them on their rugby league journey.

The playing group made the decision in the pre-season to acknowledge their junior clubs this season and later determined donating their Testimonial jerseys would be the ideal gift.

Stretching from Young in southern NSW, to Mareeba in far north Queensland and across the Tasman to Turangawaewae in New Zealand, the junior clubs are free to use the jerseys at their own discretion, whether that be for a fundraiser or simply framed and hung in the clubhouse.

Seven players personally presented the jerseys to their junior clubs last Friday on the opening day of the Laurie Spina Shield.

JT Testimonial Jersey Presentation

Michael Morgan (Townsville Brothers Green), Kyle Feldt (North Thuringowa Devils), Justin O'Neill (Hughenden Hawks), Corey Jensen (Bowen Seagulls), Scott Bolton (Innisfail Brothers), Jake Granville (Rockhampton Brothers) and Ben Hampton (Mareeba Gladiators) made their presentations at Cowboys HQ before 1,100 youngsters descended on the training field for the Laurie Spina Shield signing session.

"It was awesome to give back to a club that I played at as a young fella," Hampton said.

"It's great to see them travel so far and play in the Laurie Spina Shield. I got a little bit teary making the presentation because giving back is something I really like doing."

The remaining jerseys will be sent to their new homes in the coming weeks.

Full list:

MICHAEL MORGAN – Townsville Brothers
KYLE FELDT – North Thuringowa Devils
JUSTIN O'NEILL – Hughenden Hawks
COREY JENSEN – Bowen Seagulls
SCOTT BOLTON – Innisfail Brothers
BEN HAMPTON – Mareeba Gladiators
JAKE GRANVILLE – Rockhampton Brothers
LACHLAN COOTE – Windsor Wolves
KANE LINNETT – Windang Pelicans
MATT SCOTT – Ilfracombe Scorpions
JORDAN MCLEAN – Young Cherrypickers
GAVIN COOPER – Murgon Mustangs
ETHAN LOWE – Goondiwindi Boars
COEN HESS – Mt Isa Blackstars
JOHN ASIATA – Wentworthville Brothers
TE MAIRE MARTIN – Turangawaewae

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.