You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys members and fans have an exciting glimpse of the 2018 season ahead with the NRL's release today of the club's Round 5 draw.

Round 5, 2018: Cowboys v Warriors, Mt Smart Stadium, Saturday 7 April

The Cowboys will travel to Auckland to take on the New Zealand Warriors on Saturday 7 April, part of an action-packed double-header at Mount Smart Stadium with Wests Tigers v Melbourne Storm also on the program.

The Auckland double-header is one of four announced by the NRL, with Sydney, Perth and Brisbane to also play host to doubles, all in the first 10 rounds of the 2018 Premiership.

It will be the first time in the history of the NRL four double headers have been a part of the schedule. 

The double headers will feature: 

  • Rabbitohs v Warriors; Bulldogs v Storm – Round 1, Saturday 10 March, Perth Stadium
  • Rabbitohs v Sea Eagles; Eels v Sharks – Round 3, Saturday 24 March, ANZ Stadium
  • Tigers v Storm; Warriors v Cowboys – Round 5, Saturday 7 April, Mt Smart Stadium
  • Storm v Titans; Sea Eagles v Broncos – Round 10, Saturday 12 May, Suncorp Stadium

NRL CEO Todd Greenberg said the double headers would create an exciting element of next season’s schedule.

“We will have double headers in four major cities – three in Australia and one in New Zealand,” Mr Greenberg said.

“This is a huge step for the game and I’d like to thank the clubs involved for their efforts to embrace the concept and ensure the matches eventuated.

“This is also a direct result of us having more control over the Premiership schedule in 2018.

“We have had significant success with double headers at Suncorp Stadium in recent seasons and this is a natural progression.

“It will create more blockbuster events for our fans in 2018.”

All four double headers will be broadcast exclusively on Fox League.

Tickets for the Perth Round 1 double header are available at