You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys five-eighth Te Maire Martin has been selected in the New Zealand Kiwis squad for the Rugby League World Cup.

Three current Warriors plus new signings Adam Blair and Gerard Beale have been named in the Kiwis' 24-man squad, with New Zealand's tournament kicking off against Samoa on Saturday 28 October in Auckland.

Kiwi captain Blair and Beale join former Kiwi and Warriors skipper Simon Mannering, the club's 2017 captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and halfback Shaun Johnson.

Mannering will be playing in his third World Cup after being involved in the 2008 triumph and the 2013 tournament while Tuivasa-Sheck and Johnson were in the 2013 squad.

Blair returns to the World Cup stage after being in the winning side in 2008 but missing the last competition. Beale is making his World Cup debut.

While they were included utility David Fusitu'a, who was in contention for the New Zealand team, has opted to play for Mate Ma'a Tonga, joining North Queensland's Jason Taumalolo who has also made himself unavailable for the Kiwis along with Sio Siua Taukeiaho.

This follows today's announcement that Cronulla prop Andrew Fifita has withdrawn from Australia's squad to represent Tonga.

New Zealand World Cup squad: 
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors) 
Dallin Watene Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers) 
Jason Nightingale (St George Illawarra Dragons) 
Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders) 
Gerard Beale (Cronulla Sharks/Warriors) 
Brad Takairangi (Parramatta Eels) 
Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers) 
Peta Hiku (Warrington Wolves) 
Shaun Johnson (Warriors) 
Thomas Leuluai (Wigan Warriors) 
Kodi Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos) 
Te Maire Martin (North Queensland Cowboys) 
Danny Levi (Newcastle Knights) 
Adam Blair (Brisbane Broncos/Warriors, captain)
Martin Taupau (Manly Sea Eagles) 
Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters) 
Russell Packer (St George Illawarra Dragons/Wests Tigers) 
Addin Fonua-Blake (Many Sea Eagles) 
Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm) 
Simon Mannering (Warriors) 
Kenny Bromwich (Melbourne Storm) 
Joseph Tapine (Canberra Raiders) 
Isaac Liu (Sydney Roosters) 
Elijah Taylor (Wests Tigers)

First published on

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.