You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys head coach Paul Green has named his final 17-man team for tonight’s Round 23 NRL clash with the Penrith Panthers at Pepper Stadium. 

NRL preview: Cowboys v Panthers

Skipper Gavin Cooper (calf) and winger Antonio Winterstein (hamstring) had earlier been ruled out of the match with injury, incurred in last week’s match against the Melbourne Storm. Five-eighth Te Maire Martin is also out of the side with a knee injury, with Ben Hampton to partner skipper Michael Morgan in the halves.

Former Junior Kangaroo Patrick Mago, 22, will make his National Rugby League debut and will form a four-man interchange bench alongside John Asiata, Sam Hoare and Corey Jensen.

Shaun Fensom will start at lock, with Jason Taumalolo partnering Scott Bolton – playing his 199th game – in the front row.

The Cowboys are sitting sixth on the National Rugby League ladder with 12 wins from 20 games for 28 points, two points clear of the eighth-placed Panthers (11 wins, nine losses).

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys v Penrith Panthers
Round 23, 2017 NRL Telstra Premiership
7.30pm, Saturday 12 August, Pepper Stadium
#NRLPanthersCowboys #ridemcowboys

COWBOYS: 1. Lachlan Coote, 2. Kyle Feldt, 3. Justin O’Neill, 4. Kane Linnett, 5. Javid Bowen, 14. Ben Hampton, 7. Michael Morgan (c), 13. Jason Taumalolo, 9. Jake Granville, 10. Scott Bolton, 11. Coen Hess, 12. Ethan Lowe, 15. Shaun Fensom. Interchange: 8. John Asiata, 16. Corey Jensen, 17. Sam Hoare, 20. Patrick Mago.

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.