You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Queensland will need to defy history to claim an 11th series triumph in 12 years after coach Kevin Walters on Thursday opted to replace injured champion five-eighth Jonathan Thurston with Munster for Wednesday night's Origin III at Suncorp Stadium.

Morgan will slot into the unfamiliar position at left centre in place of Darius Boyd (thumb), setting up a clash with Blues strike weapon Josh Dugan.

The North Queensland five-eighth had been expected to step up in as five-eighth for the Maroons after playing his first seven Origins as the bench utility.

But Morgan said he had no problem lining up in the centres despite never playing there in his 116-game NRL career.

"I'm not disappointed at all. I still feel pretty privileged to be in this team, so in no way am I disappointed," he said.

"Obviously I do prefer playing in the halves but from a team point of view I completely understand the decision and I'm more than happy with it.

"Centre is a lot more individually focused. You're not talking and organising anywhere near as what you do in the halves.

"So it gives me a chance to focus more on my own game."


Queensland Maroons

1. Billy Slater 
2. Valentine Holmes 
3. Will Chambers 
4. Michael Morgan 
5. Dane Gagai 
6. Cameron Munster 
7. Cooper Cronk 
8. Dylan Napa 
9. Cameron Smith (c) 
10. Jarrod Wallace 
11. Gavin Cooper 
12. Matt Gillett 
13. Josh McGuire 
14. Ben Hunt 
15. Josh Papalii   
16. Coen Hess 
17. Tim Glasby 
18. Felise Kaufusi

Coach: Kevin Walters

First published on

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.