You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Jason Taumalolo @ NRL Photos

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys head coach Paul Green will be looking to finetune his combinations when a full-strength outfit takes on Wests Tigers in the team’s final trial match on Friday night.

Green has finalised his 18-man team for the trial, to be played at Campbelltown Stadium.

With a host of NRL regulars – including halves combo Johnathan Thurston and Michael Morgan – returning to the team after being rested for the trial in Mackay against the Roosters, Green said the team he has selected is close to what his round one team will be.

“I’ve said all along that this trial is our last proper hit-out before round one,” Green said.

“What I’m most looking for out of this trial is probably just a few combinations, just getting those a little bit sharper, especially with the new guys coming into the team. Ben Hampton in that utility role … we want him to feel comfortable in the team.”

Hampton will join young forwards Sam Hoare, Patrick Kaufusi, John Asiata and Coen Hess on a five-man bench, with all impressing against the Roosters in Mackay.

Friday’s Wests Tigers trial kicks off at 7pm AEDT/ 6pm Qld and will be live streamed on

Meanwhile, a combined Cowboys NRL/under-20s squad will play the Blackhawks at Jack Manski Oval from 7pm on Friday 17 February.

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys v Wests Tigers (trial)
6pm Qld/ 7pm AEDT, Friday 17 February, Campbelltown Sports Stadium
Live stream:

COWBOYS TEAM: John Asiata, Scott Bolton, Gavin Cooper, Lachlan Coote, Kyle Feldt, Jake Granville, Ben Hampton, Coen Hess, Sam Hoare, Patrick Kaufusi, Kane Linnett, Ethan Lowe, Michael Morgan, Justin O’Neill, Matt Scott, Jason Taumalolo, Johnathan Thurston, Antonio Winterstein.

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys (NRL/U20) v Townsville Blackhawks (trial)
7pm, Friday 17 February, Jack Manski Oval, Townsville

: Kalyn Ponga, Gideon Gela-Mosby, Enari Tuala, Javd Bowen, NathanTraill, Mitch Dunn, Jake Clifford, Ben Spina, Calum Gahan, Braden Uele, Hiale Roycroft, Cody Maughan, Corey Horsburgh, Bacho Salam, Ryan Lloyd, Sam Murphy, Kaleb Fuimaono, Emry Pere, Jack Lote.  

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.