You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys five-eighth Michael Morgan has been ruled out of today’s NRL match against the Canberra Raiders at GIO Stadium.

Morgan hurt his shoulder in Wednesday’s State of Origin match in Melbourne and was ruled out upon arriving in Canberra and being assessed by the club’s medical staff.

Rory Kostjasyn will take Morgan’s place at five-eighth, while the remainder of the Cowboys’ Origin II quartet – props James Tamou and Matt Scott and halfback Johnathan Thurston – will all play.

John Asiata, Ben Hannant, Sam Hoare and Robert Lui will come off the bench.

The match kicks off at GIO Stadium at 3pm.

COWBOYS SQUAD: 1 Lachlan Coote, 2 Matthew Wright, 3 Justin O’Neill, 4 Kane Linnett, 5 Antonio Winterstein, 14 Rory Kostjasyn, 7 Johnathan Thurston (c), 8 Matt Scott (c), 9 Jake Granville, 10 James Tamou, 11 Gavin Cooper, 12 Ethan Lowe, 13 Jason Taumalolo. Interchange: 15 John Asiata, 16 Ben Hannant, 17 Sam Hoare 20 Robert Lui.

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.