You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Photo: Grant Trouville ©

Jason Taumalolo’s breakout 2014 representative season has earned him inclusion on the list of finalists for the Kiwis’ Rookie of the Year award.

The Toyota Cowboys back-rower played in all four Tests in New Zealand’s Four Nations campaign which finished with the Kiwis defeating world champions Australia for the title.

Taumalolo’s trademark strong running and elusive step were a feature of his performances, showing that he was right at home at the game’s highest level.

Manly’s Peta Hiku and Wests Tigers prop Marty Tapau are the other Rookie of the Year contenders, which is based solely on international performances.

The award will be presented at next Wednesday night’s NZ Rugby League Awards function at Auckland's Floating Pavilion.

Finalists for the Player of the Year award are Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Golden Boot winner Shaun Johnson (NZ Warriors) and Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors).

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.