You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Photo: Charles Knight,

The experienced Gavin Cooper is one of three Toyota Cowboys to be named in the Queensland State of Origin Emerging squad for 2015.

Yet to play for his state, although he has represented the Australian Prime Minister's XIII, Cooper's selection shows he's on the minds of the Maroons selectors for what would be a well-deserved Origin call-up.

Having performed consistently for a number of seasons as part of the Cowboys back row, it's the first time Cooper has been given an opportunity to take part in the Emerging Squad helmed by QAS rugby league director Wayne Bennett and current Maroons coach Mal Meninga.

The 18-man squad also includes Michael Morgan for the second consecutive year and first-timer Tautau Moga.

There are another six Cowboys in the Queensland Rugby League’s Emerging Maroons Squad which will take the place of the Junior Emerging Squad from 2015.

It consists of a mix of eligible Under 20 players, recent NYC graduates and players with both second-tier (Intrust Super Cup) and NRL experience.

Both squads will hold training camps at the Queensland Academy of Sport in January next year.

Queensland State of Origin Emerging Squad 2015

(QAS – January 9-11)

Gavin Cooper – North Queensland Cowboys
Dale Copley – Brisbane Broncos
Jake Friend – Sydney Roosters
Dane Gagai – Newcastle Knights
Tim Glasby – Melbourne Storm / Easts Tigers
Valentine Holmes – Cronulla Sharks
Ben Hunt – Brisbane Broncos
Brenton Lawrence – Manly Sea Eagles
Edrick Lee – Canberra Raiders
Josh McGuire – Brisbane Broncos
Anthony Milford – Brisbane Broncos
Tautau Moga – North Queensland Cowboys
Michael Morgan – North Queensland Cowboys
Dylan Napa – Sydney Roosters
James Segeyaro – Penrith Panthers
Korbin Sims – Newcastle Knights
Corey Thompson – Canterbury Bulldogs
David Tyrrell – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Emerging Maroons Squad 2015

(QAS – January 15-18)

Jai Arrow – Brisbane Broncos
Luke Bateman – Canberra Raiders
Jordan Drew – Brisbane Broncos
Jayden Nikorima – Brisbane Broncos
Joe Ofahengaue – Brisbane Broncos
Marion Seve – Wests Tigers
Coen Hess – North Queensland Cowboys
Brenko Lee – Canberra Raiders
Ashley Taylor – Brisbane Broncos
Lindsay Collins – Brisbane Broncos
Patrick Kaufusi – North Queensland Cowboys 
Nene MacDonald – Sydney Roosters
Lloyd Perrett – Canterbury Bulldogs
Kierran Moseley – Gold Coast Titans
Cameron Munster – Melbourne Storm
Corey Oates – Brisbane Broncos
Brendan Elliot – Sydney Roosters
Patrick Mago – Canberra Raiders
Kane Elgey – Gold Coast Titans
Kyle Feldt – North Queensland Cowboys 
Ethan Lowe – North Queensland Cowboys 
Shaun Nona – Melbourne Storm
Javid Bowen – North Queensland Cowboys 
Hymel Hunt – Melbourne Storm 
Sam Hoare – North Queensland Cowboys 
Blake Leary – Manly Sea Eagles

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.