You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Photo: Grant Trouville ©

Toyota Cowboys co-captain Johnathan Thurston is in line to win another RLPA Players' Player Medal when it is presented at the 2014 Rugby League Players' Association Players’ Awards in Sydney next week. 

Thurston, who claimed the accolade in 2005 and 2013, is one of five finalists for the peer-voted award, along with 2009 medallist Jarryd Hayne, Canberra’s Anthony Milford (who last year was a nominee for the RLPA Rookie Award), Melbourne front-rower Jesse Bromwich and St George Illawarra’s Gareth Widdop.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday at the Four Seasons Hotel Sydney.

"The RLPA Players' Player Medal is the ultimate recognition by your peers of your on-field performances,” said RLPA CEO David Garnsey.

“To receive this accolade is certainly a career highlight for a professional rugby league player.” 

Players vote for their opponents on a 3-2-1 basis after each game of the NRL regular season and the votes are tallied after round 26.    

Thurston is also a finalist for the Australian Representative Player of the Year award.

“All those nominated can feel justifiably proud of their performances throughout what has been one of the most closely contested seasons in recent memory,” said Garnsey.  

“We look forward to celebrating their achievements.”

Finalists – 2014 RLPA Players’ Awards:

RLPA Players' Player Medal
•  Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)
•  Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
•  Anthony Milford (Canberra Raiders)
•  Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
•  Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)

RLPA Rookie of the Year
•  Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)
•  Paul Carter (Gold Coast Titans)
•  Pauli Pauli (Parramatta Eels)

National Youth Competition (NYC) Player of the Year
•  Nene Macdonald (Sydney Roosters)
•  Jake Mamo (Newcastle Knights)
•  Sione Mata’utia (Newcastle Knights)

Australian Representative Player of the Year
•  Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
•  Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons)
•  Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

New Zealand Representative Player of the Year
•  Shaun Johnson (New Zealand Warriors)
•  Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)
•  Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers)

Rest of the World Representative Player of the Year
•  Anthony Milford - Samoa (Canberra Raiders)
•  Joseph Paulo - USA (Parramatta Eels)
•  Korbin Sims - Fiji (Newcastle Knights)

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.