You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

North Queensland Toyota Cowboys forward Gavin Cooper’s hours of community work have earned him a place on the list of finalists to win the Ken Stephen Medal presented by Telstra.

He now has the chance to join teammate and good friend Johnathan Thurston (2012) as a winner of the NRL’s most prestigious community award.

How to vote

Cowboys members and supporters can get behind Coops by voting for him:

Voting is live until midnight on Wednesday 10 September.

Gavin Cooper – your Cowboys nominee

Coops is especially dedicated to building the strength of the Cowboys Community Fund, which supports disadvantaged youth throughout North Queensland.

He has given up his time to help raise tens of thousands of dollars, sometimes travelling up to 400km to attend an event.

Outside of the Cowboys, Gavin has worked with the Queensland Country Health Fund staff taking part in the Shave for a Cure Campaign.

Acting as an ambassador, Gavin dedicated his time and efforts to raising awareness and support for the initiative.

Gavin is also the adopted Cowboy for Wulguru State School, a role that sees him heavily involved in supporting the school and its students.

“I take lots of pride in getting involved with the community from both the club side and on my own,” said Gavin.

“Working with the local community is a great opportunity to give back and that's what we're about here at the Cowboys.

"The young kids at Wulguru State School have become a part of my life that I really enjoy.”

About the Ken Stephen Medal

The Ken Stephen Medal is named after the NSWRL administrator who dedicated 28 years of service to the game.

The medal has been won by rugby league legends including Thurston, Wayne Pearce, Paul Harragon, Nathan Hindmarsh, Hazem El Masri, David Peachey and Preston Campbell.
The winner will be announced at the One Community Awards held at Sydney’s Carriageworks on Thursday 25 September. 

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.