You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Photo: Grant Trouville ©

Current and past North Queensland Toyota Cowboys will celebrate Queensland’s eight straight series wins at next Wednesday’s third Origin match, with the QRL finalising its plans to honour the remarkable achievements of the record-breaking playing group.

Former players who represented Queensland from 2006 to 2013 will be guests at Suncorp Stadium for the 9 July match where they will be formally acknowledged at half time.

They will then form a guard of honour when the current Maroons enter the field for the second half.

Former Cowboys outside back Josh Hannay will be part of the North Queensland contingent at game three.

Now coaching the Souths Logan Magpies in the Intrust Super Cup, Hannay said he was extremely proud to be part of the celebrations.

“I’m very grateful to be recognised,” he said.

“To be fair, there’s certainly a number of guys who have made enormous contributions over the eight years.

“While mine was small, I’m certainly proud to have played a part.”

Hannay still gets excited when he talks about the late tries scored by Brent Tate and Darren Lockyer in Queensland’s memorable 16-14 game three win in ’06. 

“It was probably looking quite dire there when we were down by 10 with 10 or so minutes to go before Tatey got that try to get us back into it,” Hannay recalled.

In total, 49 players represented Queensland in the eight series victories, which started when Darren Lockyer led the Maroons to a come-from-behind win in the deciding match of the 2006 series.

“It’s an important part of our program and culture that we recognise those that have gone before us,” Queensland Maroons coach Mal Meninga said.

“The players who are not playing in our team at the moment have certainly made fantastic contributions to our success over the last eight years and they need to be acknowledged for that.

“It’s great that the game and the Queensland Rugby League have seen fit to do it in game three. I think it adds to the occasion and I know the team will appreciate the players being around.”

The ex-Maroons will also enjoy a private dinner with the current Queensland team and coaching staff.

HONOUR ROLL – Origin players (with player number) who represented Queensland during the eight series wins from 2006 to 2013:

Matt Ballin - 170
Steven Bell - 153
Shaun Berrigan - 129
Matt Bowen - 138
Darius Boyd - 166
Dane Carlaw - 127
Tonie Carroll - 110
Daly Cherry-Evans - 176
Petero Civoniceva - 120
Neville Costigan - 162
Michael Crocker- 136
Cooper Cronk - 168
Chris Flannery - 133
Israel Folau - 164
Matt Gillett - 173
Ben Hannant - 165
Josh Hannay - 139
Ashley Harrison - 151
Justin Hodges - 130
Karmichael Hunt - 159
Greg Inglis - 152
Dallas Johnson - 156
Antonio Kaufusi - 163
Jacob Lillyman - 161
Darren Lockyer - 104
PJ Marsh - 131
Chris McQueen - 175
Adam Mogg - 160
Nate Myles - 158
Dane Nielsen - 171
Josh Papalii - 177
Corey Parker - 146
Steve Price - 108
Scott Prince - 143
Clinton Schifcofske - 128
Matt Scott - 155
David Shillington - 167
Billy Slater - 142
Cameron Smith - 140
David Stagg - 154
Brent Tate - 134
Dave Taylor - 169
Ben Te'o - 174
Sam Thaiday - 157
Johnathan Thurston - 148
Willie Tonga - 145
Carl Webb - 124
Rhys Wesser - 141
Jharal Yow Yeh - 172

Acknowledgement of Country

North Queensland Cowboys respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.