Skip to main content
Main content



    The Cowboys Game Development team travels the entire footprint of North Queensland with the aim of growing the game of rugby league at all levels, with a particular focus on grassroots participation.

    We run coaching clinics in primary and secondary schools and with junior and senior clubs, as well as convening and assisting in the delivery of junior rugby league competitions throughout the north.

    Our partners

    Our team works closely with NRL Game Development officers to ensure that grassroots rugby league in the north continues to grow and thrive.

    More information – visit

    • Get involved as a player, coach or referee
    • Find a club in your region
    • Resources, including laws and codes of conduct
    • State leagues

  • spacer-5x5

    The Laurie Spina Shield is a two-day rugby league carnival coordinated by the North Queensland Toyota Cowboys and open to players under 11 years of age, with a focus on participation, sportsmanship and enjoying the ‘greatest game of all’.

    2017 CARNIVAL

    23-24 June, Townsville (Cowboys v Panthers, Round 16) 

    >>> Nomination form 
    >>> Event profile


    Liam Bartlett, Game Development Manager
    North Queensland Toyota Cowboys
    Tel: 0408 075 327


  • The North Queensland Toyota Cowboys are proud to support North Queensland junior rugby league through their annual competitions.

    2016 winners: Kirwan State High School

    The Aaron Payne Cup is a secondary school competition for the top eight rugby league schools in North and Central Queensland.

    The two highest-placed teams from this competition go on to compete in the GIO Cup (state finals).

    This competition provides the participating schools with regular competition games and encourages continued involvement in rugby league at a higher level (state and national).

    2016 winners: Ignatius Park College

    The Cowboys Under 15 Challenge targets the under-15 age group at the eight schools that participate in the Aaron Payne Cup.

    The objectives of this challenge are similar to the Aaron Payne Cup – it provides an opportunity for regular competition and encourages players to stay involved in rugby league and in future years progress through to the open competition.

    2017 Tier 1 winners: Kirwan State High School
    2017 Tier 2 winners: Innisfail State College

    The North Queensland Toyota Cowboys have honoured their games record-holder Matthew Bowen by launching an annual junior rugby league tournament, hosted by St Teresa’s College, Abergowrie.

    Originally starting as the Matthew Bowen Sevens before changing to the Matthew Bowen Nines, the tournament is open to all secondary schools in North Queensland and was contested for the first time in February 2014.

    The Nines include a maximum of 16 teams who play a round-robin competition to decide the final four teams before playing the semi-finals and grand final. 2017 saw the competition move to two tiers to cater for all levels of competition.

    Friday 20 October
    Townsville & District Junior Rugby League, Stuart Park, Kern Brothers Drive

    This is a fun day of rugby league focused on increasing participation in the sport among girls and is open to all secondary school students across North Queensland. 


    Liam Bartlett, Game Development Manager
    North Queensland Toyota Cowboys
    Tel: 0408 075 327 / 07 4773 0712 | Email:

  • spacer-5x5
  • Liam Bartlett, Game Development Manager, North Queensland Toyota Cowboys
    Tel 0408 075 327 | Email

    Tony Quinn, Game Development Manager, Northern Division
    Tel 0417 234 796 | Email

    Rob Moore, NRL Game Development Officer, Cairns
    Tel 0402 892 834 | Email

    Alby Anderson, NRL Game Development Officer, Cairns
    Tel 0448 812 005 | Email

    Jenni-sue Hoepper, NRL Game Development Officer, Townsville
    Tel 0413 582 920 | Email 

    Ben Jeffries, NRL Game Development Officer, Townsville
    Tel 0411 159 431 | Email 

    Tyson Muscat, NRL Game Development Officer, Mackay
    Tel 0402 892 833 | Email

    Renae Kunst, NRL Game Development Officer, Mackay
    Tel 0417 068 132 | Email

    Sally Galloway, NRL Game Development Officer, Rockhampton
    Tel 0402 892 838 | Email

    Dominic Draper, NRL Game Development Officer, Rockhampton
    Tel 0438 336 907 | Email

    Karl Adams, NRL Game Development Officer, Cape York
    Tel 0477 468 193 | Email

    Michael Inman, NRL Referee Development Officer, Townsville
    Tel 0448 631 643 | Email