Skip to main content
Main content

Year 14 - 2008

History will record season 2008 as one of the toughest for the club, with an horrific injury toll to key players, suspensions and early uncertainty over the coaching position all contriving to make it a less than memorable year.

Three losses to start the season were followed by three convincing wins which could have catapulted the club to greater success but it wasn’t to be.

A thirteen-match losing streak followed until the round 20 victory at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium against the Bulldogs, which was also the first victory for caretaker coach Ian Millward. (Long serving coach Graham Murray left the club after round 10.)

A home win against the Raiders in round 23 salvaged some pride and the club avoided the wooden spoon with five wins and 19 losses to finish in 15th spot.

There were some bright spots though, one of which was Carl Webb’s selection in the ANZAC Test alongside Johnathan Thurston, making him the fifth Cowboy to wear the Australian colours while with the club.

Johnathan Thurston and Matthew Bowen were also honoured to be selected in the "Queensland 100 Greats", as part of the Centenary of Rugby League celebrations, and in doing so joined an elite group of current players to be selected in this prestigious list.

Despite the string of losses, the club still maintained the fourth highest home crowd figure in the NRL with an average of 18,102, highlighting just how strong the club's support base is.

With several key players returning from injury and some key signings, it is hoped that season 2009 is a much more successful one than its predecessor.

Season statistics

  • Captain: Johnathan Thurston, Aaron Payne
  • Coach: Graham Murray, Ian Millward
  • Won 5, lost 19
  • Points for 474, points against: 638
  • Top point scorer: John Williams 96
  • Finished: 15th
  • Player of the Year: Aaron Payne
  • Average home crowd: 18,102

Representative players/coaches

  • Johnathan Thurston, Jacob Lillyman, Carl Webb (18th Man): Qld State of Origin
  • Johnathan Thurston, Carl Webb: Australia
  • Steve Hooper (trainer): France